tcnj wordmark

Initial Contact Advocacy Network

ICAN YOUTUBE

The Initial Contact Advocacy Network (ICAN) is a safety net for all victims and survivors of sexual assault, domestic/dating violence, and stalking within the TCNJ community.  The Network facilitates access to the myriad of resources and service-providers available to victims/survivors.  ICAN offers alternative entry points to resources for victims/survivors who would otherwise be hesitant to utilize mainstream campus and community services. ICAN operates as part of TCNJ’s victim-response system through a network of empathetic listeners with an interdisciplinary background. The ICAN members attend an initial training and are kept up to date on current issues impacting victims/survivors under the supervision of Anti-Violence Initiatives (AVI).

All ICAN members will be easily identified by an ICAN placard placed visibly on or around their door.

ICAN Membership

  • ICAN members can be TCNJ faculty, staff, or administrators who maintain regular or reliable hours in an on-campus office.
  • ICAN members are capable of maintaining privacy, but DO NOT hold the privilege of  legal confidentiality.
  • All ICAN members are willing and able to provide access to resources and services in accordance with the training.
  • All ICAN members are 18 years old or over.
  • All ICAN members complete appropriate documentation including anonymous reports  in support of the Clery Act.

Current ICAN Members

Participant Department Email Extn. Building
Lynn Bradley Chemistry Faculty bradley@tcnj.edu 3013 Science Complex
Barbara Clark Student Health Services Nurse Practitioner clarkb@tcnj.edu 2889 Eickhoff
Dave Conner Fraternity & Sorority Life Assistant Director conner@tcnj.edu 3125 Student Center
Robbin Loonan Anti-Violence Initiatives Coordinator loonanr@tcnj.edu 2272 Holman
Tabitha Dell’Angelo Elementary Education Faculty dellange@tcnj.edu 3354 Forcina
Joe Hadge Alcohol & Drug Education Program (ADEP)Coordinator hadgej@tcnj.edu 2571 Holman
Lynette Harris Career Center lharris@tcnj.edu 3371 Forcina
Holly Heller Student Health Services Nurse Practitioner heller@tcnj.edu 2889 Eickhoff
Dawn Henderson Sr. Associate Director of Athletics / Women’s Basketball Coach dhenders@tcnj.edu 3030 Recreation Center
Sally Miller Softball Coach millers@tcnj.edu 2365 Recreation Center
Grecia Montero Admissions montero@tcnj.edu 3101 Loser
Amanda Norvell Biology Faculty norvell@tcnj.edu 3439 Biology Building
Marcia O’Connell Biology Faculty moconnel@tcnj.edu 2879 Biology Building
Georgeann O’Leary Student Health Services Nurse Practitioner oleary@tcnj.edu 2889 Eickhoff
Antonino Scarpati Nursing, Health, & Exercise Science Assistant Dean scarpati@tcnj.edu 2447 Loser
Anntarie Sims Communication Studies Faculty sims@tcnj.edu 2125 Kendall
Felicia Steele English Faculty steele@tcnj.edu 2698 Bliss
Brunelle Tomsky Psychology Department Staff tellis@tcnj.edu 2427 Social Sciences
Tina Tormey Residential Education & Housing Assistant Director tormey@tcnj.edu 3279 Allen
Janice Vermeychuk Student Health Services Director / Nurse Practitioner vermeyj@tcnj.edu 2841 Eickhoff
Linda Young Student Health Services Registered Nurse lyoung@tcnj.edu 2889 Eickhoff

Goals of ICAN

ICAN is a victim-centered program.  Victim/survivor assistance is second only to victim/survivor safety.  Therefore, the dual purpose of ICAN is to advertise to the victim/survivor that a known safe haven is available to her/him and that the person in that safe haven can help her/him become informed about medical, legal, and mental health resources both on and off campus.  The goals of ICAN are as follows:

  • To minimize re-victimization that occurs from discussing the incident with multiple sources.
  • To always empower the victim/survivor.
  • To hold the victim/survivor in unconditional positive regard and without judgment.
  • To make victims/survivors aware that an ICAN member is not trained to provide professional care to the victim/survivor.
  • To clarify that confidentiality cannot* be ensured, but privacy will be.
  • To expedite the victim to professional care where confidentiality can be ensured if desired by the victim/survivor.
  • To make the victim/survivor aware of resources both on- and off -campus via use of the CARE (Choice~Advocacy~Respect~Empowerment) Package.

*Any questions about the limitations of confidentiality can be directed to Robbin Loonan, AVI and ICAN Coordinator

Training

ICAN members must complete a 1/2 day training to receive an ICAN Placard.

Training covers the following topics:

  • Overview of Domestic/Dating Violence, Sexual Assault, and Stalking
  • Resource and Referral Training with the CARE Package
  • Mandatory Reporting Procedures
Top